Texas Education Code Section 25.092 ~ MINIMUM ATTENDANCE FOR CLASS CREDIT OR FINAL GRADE
(para leer en español, clic aqui)
What Does The 90% Rule Mean for Your Child?
In addition to Texas compulsory attendance laws, districts are required to enforce the 90% rule which states that students in grades Kindergarten through 12th must attend class 90% of the time it is offered to receive credit or a final grade. This rule applies even if your child has an IEP or 504 Plan.
- Students can only miss 5 days per nine weeks per course. Students who miss more than the allotted number of days will not receive credit for the course or courses with over 5 absences. For high school students, this means they may have to repeat a class that they received a passing grade in if they did not attend that class at least 90% of the time the class was offered. Additionally, students who lose credit due to attendance may recoup the credit by attending tutoring before or after school or during Saturday school.
- A student who is in attendance for at least 75 percent, but less than 90 percent, of the days a class is offered, may be given credit or a final grade if the student completes a plan approved by the principal that provides for the student to meet the instructional requirements of the class.
- If there are extenuating circumstances for the absences, the student and/or parent can submit an Attendance Waiver Request form along with documentation to their counselor.
- The 90 percent rule applies to all absences (excluding those exempted by law), including excused absences.